SC CWP Certification Requirements

  • - You must be at least 21 years of age
  • - You must be a South Carolina resident (or qualified non-resident, we can help you if you need to determine if you are a qualified non-resident).
  • - You must be able to pass the SLED (FBI) background check
    • - Due to this requirements, two sets of fingerprint cards. provided in class, will be sent with your application to SLED
    • - Minor violations such as a few traffic tickets should not results in denial of your application, however, habitual violations, such as six or more traffic tickets in a five year period may be used to deny your application.
  • - You must be able to legally possess a firearm under South Carolina Law (please contact us if you have a question concerning this requirements).
    • - No felonies
    • - No dishonorably military discharges
    • - No misdemeanor with potential jail terms grated than 1 or 2 years
  • - Provide a Valid SC Drivers’ License
  • - Attend eight hours of classroom and range session.
    • - Pass The Written Test provided at the end of class.  If you pay attention in class you should pass the written examination without too much difficulty
    • - Pass the Proficiency Range Test.  Our instructors will provide you the marksmanship skills needed to pass this portion.  The proficiency test consists of shooting 50 rounds at a silhouette target at the following distances: 10 rounds each at 3, 5, 7, 10 yards and 5 rounds each at 12 and 15 yards. A passing score is hitting 35 out of 50 on the target.
  • - Submit $50.00 to SLED accompanying your application.  This application fee is included in your class fee and we mail in your application.  Therefore, there are NO HIDDEN COSTS.
  • Our class cost of $150 includes:
    • Fingerprint fees
    • SLED application fee
    • Range fees
    • Proficiency Range Test Approved Targets
    • SLED Application Form
    • Training Certificate to be submitted to SLED